This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.   Accept  More info


The Gold Medal

The Gold medal is the highest accolade which the society can award. This award is presented only once every three years to an individual who has made 'exceptional contributions to the furtherance/development of Prosthodontics' in the following domains: clinical, research, education, BSSPD involvement.

Nominations are received from the membership every three years and the Gold Medal is awarded following the outcome of the assessment panel including the immediate past president, current president and the president elect.

The Gold Medal is next scheduled to be presented at the 2023 annual meeting. Nominations are sought for this most pretigious award and should be made in writing or by email to the Awards administrator.

Gold Medal Recipients

  • Professor Bjorn Hedegard (1972)
  • Professor John Osborne (1975)
  • Professor Ernest Matthews (1978)
  • Professor Niels Brill (1979)
  • Professor David Watt (1981)
  • Professor John Bates (1984)
  • Professor Kenneth Liddelow (1987)
  • Professor Per-Olof Glantz (1990)
  • Professor Michael Braden (1993)
  • Professor Alan Grant (1996)
  • Professor George Zarb (1999)
  • Professor Robin Heath (2002)
  • Professor John Hobkirk (2005)
  • Professor Fraser McCord (2008)
  • Professor Paul Wright (2011)
  • Professor Robert Clark (2014)
  • Professor Harold Preiskel (2017)
  • Mr Richard Welfare (2020)
  • Professor Craig Barclay (2023)

 Prof Craig Barclay

Above: Craig Barclay was awarded the BSSPD Gold Medal in 2023.